End of Summer Update

I’ve been slacking with the blog lately. I’ve been kinda slacking on the knitting too but I do have all of my projects planned out.  Currently my Vortex shawl is being held in time out.  I started the picot bind off and I ran out of yarn.  Now I’m in the process of ripping it out as well as the last few rows.  Its taking a LOOONNGG time.

I figured out a big, squishy blanket pattern for two people on my Christmas list.   I’m going to be doing the Surfrider Throw.  Here is my progress so far….

IMG_2957 IMG_2960

 

I think I’ll make two of these, I’m not sure yet.  I’m using Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick and Quick.  I screwed up with my needle length too.  I didn’t think I had a size 13 interchangeable, so I went to A.C Moore and bought a set of 13 circular needles, not even thinking about cable length, I just picked up the first ones I found.  I really have those 170 sts jammed on that 24″ needle.  Of course after I bought them I realized my Addi Clicks have a size 13 in there.  Now I just need to figure out what project my 40″ cable is on…..

I also figured out my mom’s gift.  I wanted it to be a sweater of some sort but I just didn’t see myself casting on a sweater and having it finished along with everything else.  I dug through my WIP’s and totally forgot I had been working on a Tappan Zee cardigan a few months ago.  She had seen my working on it before and said she liked it. Bonus, its almost finished!  The picture is not very good, its a really dreary day here and I had a heck of a time even getting this shot.  Its really not this bright.

 

IMG_2964

 

The only thing I haven’t cast on yet is the Dream Stripes shawl.  As soon as I get something finished, probably the Tappan Zee, I will cast on for that.  It shouldn’t take me too long.

The thing I’m really worried about now is Cole’s Arlo.  I started to work on it on Sunday and its hard.  Not hard, hard just time consuming,  I HAVE to pay attention and really follow the pattern.  I forgot how much I hate charts.

I just need to sit and work on stuff.  Maybe with school starting I can make myself do a row or two on it after I get them off in the mornings before I go to work.  I don’t know, I’ll have to work something out.

On another note, I’ve been having a hard time dealing with summer being over.  I’m honestly not ready for my boys to go back to school.  It really seems like summer vacation just flew by this year and I’m a little bummed that we really didn’t do anything this year.  It was really kind of a bummer of a summer :/

Today is my day off work so I decided today we would do something fun.  A kind of last hurrah before Monday.  Before Cole was in school I would take the last Thursday before school started and take Logan out and do something with just him.  It was fun.  Now that Cole’s in school too I decided he should some too.

I don’t know about you but it seems like when I TRY to plan something fun, fun is the last thing we have.  Nobody could decide on a fun thing to do.  Cole wanted to go to the beach (ummm, no.) or Hersheypark (again…ummm, no).

Then we were going to go to a movie.

Why is it when I want to take my kids to the movies there is NOTHING out that I want them to see?! I mean come on, if I have to practically take out a loan to take my whole family to a movie there could at least be something good to see!

The only option was Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and I know Ryan wants to see it too & unfortunately he works Thursdays.

By this time it was 11:30 A.M and we really had to decide and get ready.  We had to be home in order to go to Cole’s football scrimmage by 5:30.

Finally, we decided to go to the local park and play some tennis.  It was hot but it was fun.  We had started playing the middle of July.  The park we go to is nice and quiet, right by the river and nobody else is usually there.  I really wish we had made a point to go more often this summer.  Even if we had to get up crazy early to go.

 

So that’s what has been going on here.  Hopefully I can get out of this funk and get things finished.  I just can’t believe how quickly we are moving into fall!

Leave a Reply

